Everyone Is Not A Winner

Progressives seem to love this idea that everyone is a winner, no one is a loser. They are disgusted with the idea that unequal inputs result in equal results. No where is this more clear than in the world of youth competitions. Everyone gets a trophy, everyone gets a pat on the back, because we don’t want to hurt the feelings of those kids who lost. This is the greatest disservice we can do for our kids. It fails to prepare them for life. Without defeat one can never truly appreciate victory.

A lovely flyer from Michigan has found its way to the internet. The flyer is for a field day at North Hill Elementary School in Rochester Michigan. The flyer read, and I quote, “The purpose of the day is for our school to get together for an enjoyable two hours of activities and provide an opportunity for students, teachers and parents to interact cooperatively. Since we believe that all of our children are winners, the need for athletic ability and the competitive “urge to win” will be kept to a minimum. The real reward will be the enjoyment and good feelings of participation.” I hate to break it to all you progressives and “new age” parents out there, there are winners and there are losers. Eliminating/reducing the urge to win is a recipe for subservient pods just going along to get along.

That nasty urge to win, is what leads to greatness. That desire to be better, faster, stronger, is what drives people to reach new heights. Why should I work hard, practice, and push myself if I am guaranteed the same outcome either way? This is the attitude that breeds complacency. Competition pushes people to do better, whether hipsters want to admit it or not. I see it every time that I work with the boys in my scout troop. 

An example of competition breeding results would be when it was decided that we must address the boys lack luster cooking.  They were settling for hamburger patties and veggies thrown in a metal packet on the fire. That would be fine, except I remember as a child making beef stroganoff from scratch, cobblers, and pot roasts. I tried giving them suggestions on what to make, showed them how to cook different things, but nothing seemed to excite them to branch out. That is until we announced the GREAT POTATOE COOK OFF. In this event each patrol (the groups that build up a troop) was to cook a potato dish, from scratch, and they would be judge by people at a maple syrup festival we were attending. The winner, yes I am such a Neanderthal that I intended to declare a winner, earned dinner with the adults on the next campout. Of course, the adults where competing too, so this really raised the bar. Set them an unbeatable challenge, that hipster progressives would call unfair. How could we expect boys to beat adults, when we had a former five star chef on our crew. The challenge was set, and the boys rose to meet it. Believe it or not, the boys came out in force, and one group managed to claim the prize.

So I proved that boys can beat adults, but that doesn’t mean that competition, or the urge to win, breeds excellence. That part came on the next campout when the boys watched as the winning patrol was treated to a classic meal of Beef Stroganoff, FRESH garlic bread, and a pine apple upside down cake. That night around the fire I heard the boys talking about “do you think we could cook something like that?”.  Guess what, on the next campout, they stepped up their cooking. The boys ditched the foil packets, and broke out the Dutch ovens. All the hand holding in the world could not replace that gut urge to push these boys to be better than the other boys.

I hate when I see people rewarding those who perform poorly, a group that most of my elementary and middle school career I was a member of. I hate to see that, because I remember how I felt when I lost, I thought, how am I going to get into that winners circle. I worked hard, and by high school I had done it. I  hate to see people rewarding those who did not earn it, because I remember how it felt when I finally stepped into the winners circle, when all my hard work paid off. That is the best feeling in the world, and these hipster punks are ruining it. They are punishing people who do achieve, by equating their superior performance with that of poor performance. They are taking that glorious feeling of victory away from someone who fought to earn it.

This hipster progressive “equal outcomes for everyone”, is the greatest disservice we could do to our children. We are failing to prepare them for failure, we are failing to prepare them for the actual real world. We hold their hands all through school, telling them “its okay, you had a good time that is all that counts”. Guess what, once you graduate and are thrown out into the real world, having a good time isn’t really all that maters. People expect results, especially the people who are going to pay you money for working for them. Not everyone gets a raise, not everyone gets paid the same. People who work hard, get rewarded, people who don’t find themselves just shuffling along through life. In my opinion this “We are all winners” is long term child abuse. They will feel failures sting sooner or later. They can either feel it when it at a grade school field day, when defeat is like a pin prick. Or as progressives prefer they can meet it as adults when defeat is like a knife to the heart. The choice is yours. We can either continue to reward failure and punish success. We can continue lying to our kids telling them that failure doesn’t exist.  Or we can actually prepare people for life, instill a urge to win, and protecting kids from failure by teaching them how to avoid it.

Let the discussion begin

