Whoopi Goldberg’s Blind Racism

Things got tense on the View the other day, when Whoopi Goldberg revealed the bitterness in her heart that she has towards white people. While on the View Will Cain, the host of Real News on The Blaze, was reminded by Whoopi Goldberg that he was a white man. The issue of racism was brought up when the conversation shifted towards Russell Brand’s highly controversial statement that a Fox News Host was more dangerous  than radical terrorist group ISIS.

Cain began the discussion by saying, “I think it’s part of this whole trend we have now. We elevate words to the most harmful thing in society,” Cain said. “How dare you say something that could offend somebody? How dare you say something that hurts my feelings? Why have we gone to this place where words are the worst thing?”” A valid question.

Well Ms. Goldberg could not resist the opportunity to remind us just how horrible of a nation we live in, how rotten to the core it is, “Let me tell you why. America has… a history of utilizing words to harm people and hurt people, and the people who have been on the other side of it I think are at the point where they’re saying, this is not OK anymore” She has apparently forgotten that we also have a history of spilling our blood to protect people, to save people, to help people.

While watching the video, I wanted to shout at her, “Sticks and Stone may break my bones, but names will never hurt me”. Well Mr. Cain when on to do just that.  He said, “you have to be bigger than words, that is the whole point”. That is true you have to rise above the word, the word only holds the meaning that you let it hold.

Well Ms. Goldberg, predictably could not let it go at that, she went on to tell Mr. Cain that it was perfectly acceptable for someone to be upset about the name of the Washington Red Skins, or demand that people stop using a word because they do not like it. Cain responded in the best way imaginable, he said, “We’ll all be out of business, we’ll all stop talking. Everybody’s offended all the time, from the Fighting Irish to the Redskins. Everyone’s offended”. That is true, it seems like everything you do in this modern age is offensive to someone. I should also point out that the audience applauded Mr. Cain at this point.

Ms. Goldberg, then decided to soil her hands and reach down into the depths of bigotry, and responded “That is spoken like a true white guy.”

Mr. Cain responded in the simplest of fashion, “maybe, that’s what I am.”

This exchange shows so much of what is wrong in this country. Our children are being taught to find outrage around every corner, that they should be offended every time someone opens their mouth. I am sorry, but this concept that words are the most hateful thing just burns me up. Words only carry the meaning you let them. When I was younger, 4th grade through 8th, I was a smaller child. I was scrawny and shorter than many of my class mates. I was not very athletic, and an easy target. I was on the receiving end of a lot of bullying. I was called mean and hurtful names, and I was physically beaten.  Having been on the receiving end of both physical and verbal abuse, I can tell you that “stick and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me.” I would much rather be called an idiot, moron, baby, loser, dork, dweeb, honkey what have you. Come up with a name, I’d love to hear it. I can get over being called a name. You just shrug it off and move on with your life, do not let it rent space in your head. However, a bruise, cuts, broken bones those things serve as a reminder of what that punk did. Hard to shrug off a broken leg, or the stiches in your arm.

Words seem to hold power, fiery speeches can excite the heart, fuel the soul, and bring about great changes in the world. Why then do I say we put too much emphases on words? If a fiery speech can bring about good, shouldn’t we then assume that a hateful on should bring about pain? The words themselves hold within them no power, no strength, they are incapable of anything. It is the meaning we associate with them. They only hold the power that we give them. When I entered into high school I learned that I do not really care what these punks have to say. I had more important things to worry about. Now that is not to say that I ignored them, I always responded, but my responses changed. I no longer let their words hurt me, I no longer tried to throw them back into their face, I simply responded with “God Bless you”, and went on with my life. These people who try to pull me down, clearly need more help that I can give them. Sinking to their level does not some how elevate me above them. Once a conversation or a debate devolves into pointless name calling, there is nothing more to be had. End it with “God Bless you” and move on with your life.

Actions speak louder than words ever could. Simply gurgling out strange sounds from your mouth does nothing to change the world. They cannot physically move someone to do something, or stop doing something. However, the actions of the person who says the words can. Standing by what you say, standing up for what you believe in, can bring about change. Simply saying, “it is okay for people to be upset about racism”, means nothing, if you then go ahead and behave in a racist manor yourself.

Think about it this way. Picture an average suburb in the Midwest of the United States. You are driving down the street of a neighborhood on your weigh to drop off your son at his friends house. You see an elderly lady trying to get the groceries our of her car. She is struggling to get them out. You think to yourself, I feel sorry for that woman.  Now tell me which of the following scenarios sends a bigger message, which one goes the greater distance in making a difference in the elderly ladies life?

a.) You look at your son and say, “someone should really help her. It is horrible that no one is helping her with her groceries” and then you drive on by and drop your son off at his friends.

b.) You pull over, and help the lady with the groceries. Get back in the car and drop off your son.

Which scenario teachers your son how to be a better man? Which scenario actually goes about helping that elderly lady? Scenario A does nothing to help her. Sure you said kind words, and expressed sympathy, but she is still forced to struggle with the heavy bags. You might as well have said, “look at that old bat, she can’t even lift a bag of groceries”.  The end result is no different. Your son learns the same lesson, you see someone in trouble you just drive on by, and that poor elderly lady still has to do the groceries by herself. My father took the second option, and I take the second option. I watched my father countless times extend a hand out to people whenever he could. I saw that physically helping people brought smiles to their face.

In the above scenarios you see the two options available to us. Option a person who voices their outrage about a situation, and appears to get angry about the lack of support for another human beings plight. Yet, despite the anger they are expressing towards “other people” for not helping, they turn about and do nothing themselves. They don’t want the world to think bad of them, so they say what is right. However they want someone else to solve the problem. They are different. Option B the person takes action and makes a difference. Unfortunately Ms. Goldberg and so many people now choose option A. They choose to be outraged by issues of race, but reserve the right to be racists themselves. They choose the right to be angry about issues of racial inequality, but choose to do nothing about it.  She made valid arguments, people are offended by words, they do have the right to be offended. However when push came to shove, when it came time to stand up, she said, “spoken like a true white man” and just drove by that elderly lady trying to put away her groceries.

Ms. Goldberg could have said anything in response to Mr. Cain, but she chose to use race, why, all it did was invalidate her arguments. She could have said, “That is true, how do you think we could solve this problem”, or “perhaps that should be a sign to society that we need to start rethinking our behavior.”  She could have gone anywhere with that conversation, heck she simply could have said, “God Bless you Mr. Cain”. She could have been an example, she could have shown us that there are better ways to deal with racial issues than simply jumping down into the muck yourself.

Racism is racism no mater where it comes from. Racism cannot be used as an argument to disprove racism. Most importantly racism should never be used as a weapon against people. AKA how the progressives tried to use false accusations of racism to discredit the TEA Party.  Words are pudding in the air, bits of fluff harmless to us. Actions define us, and change the world. Ms. Goldberg apparently needs to learn to understand that. I pray for her.

Let the discussion begin

