Raven Vs. Oprah

Actress and musician Raven-Symone famous for her roles on the Cosby Show and That’s So Raven, has shocked the world, and gave this writer hope for humanity. Raven ruffled feathers when in an interview with Oprah had the audacity to say that she was tired of labels. Raven told Oprah “I’m tired of being labeled. I’m an American. I’m not African American; I’m an American.”

Well as you can imagine this did not sit well with Oprah. She is a progressive, and progressivism mandates a divided and segmented society. One united culture is too hard to control, and cannot be allowed. Now Oprah was in shock that this young woman would say something like this, clearly she just misspoke. So Oprah said, “Oh, girl, don’t set Twitter on fire. Oh my lord what did you just say?”

Raven responded, “I mean, I don’t know where my roots go to. I don’t know how far back they go…I don’t know what country in Africa I’m from, but I do know that my roots are in Louisiana. I’m an American. And that’s a colorless person.” I have a lot of respect for Raven for this statement. Her she is a young celebrity, facing down a legend like Oprah. Oprah expressed disdain for her bold statement, but Raven did not back pedal.

This is a view point I wish more people had. I always hear people say things like I am German, I’m Irish, I’m an African American, when most of these people have never seen the Atlantic Ocean, let alone cross it. Yes your ancestors may have come from Ireland, they may have come from Africa, the key word in those sentences is not the country. The key word is “come”, your ancestors CAME from one country to this country. It is important to remember where they came from, but you were born here. If you are the fifth generation to be raised in a community in the Midwest, you are not German.

I love the idea of immigration, and the mingling of cultures, that is how we grow as a people. America is a smelting pot, and that is not a bad thing. Iron is a strong metal, and was used for centuries to make weapons, tools, and structures. However, while iron is very strong, it is very brittle. When combined with carbon, iron becomes steal, stronger and less likely to shatter. Steal is very good, but when combined with nickel, suddenly steel becomes stainless steel. In all these cases once the material enters the smelting pot, the impurities are burned away and the resulting metal is stronger, lighter, better. So too has been the example in American History. For over a hundred years that is how American society worked. Immigrants came, brought bits of their homeland with them, and our culture grew.

That is not how progressives see it, this strong unified society is a bad thing. Progressives rule by division, by keeping people at odds with one another. That makes it easier to stay in power and push radical ideologies through. “vote for me, or these people will crush you”. That is why Oprah had to try and correct Raven, give her a chance to fall back into line. She warned Raven that she was going to “get a lot of flak for saying you’re not African-American.I want you to say what you really mean by that.” I mean clearly Raven is confused, she has forgotten that she is supposed to hate all cultures, and walk around with a chip on her shoulder.

Raven responded with “What I really mean by that is I’m an American. That’s what I really mean.” That response made my day, mean what you say, and say what you mean. Anyways she continued, “I have darker skin. I have a nice, interesting grade of hair. I connect with caucasian. I connect with Asian. I connect with black. I connect with Indian. I connect with each culture.” That is how this country is supposed to be. We are supposed to be able to connect to everyone, because we are supposed to be one nation, not a thousand nations divided down racial divides. Progressives will destroy Raven for not towing the line. She will be destroyed, as Sarah Palin was. She was a smart woman, who dared to associate with the GOP. She was a successful woman, who did not support abortion, so she had to be destroyed.

Raven has the right idea, unfortunately progressives Zealots will destroy her for daring to disagree with the idea that she is supposed to be an African American first and foremost, an American if she gets the time.

Let the discussion begin

